I got a Phishing Notification email from Google

December 5th, 2009

Question: I received a notice seemingly from google that pages on my site might be a phishing attack. I contacted my hosting company and they said that they are recieving the same email for all of their domains. Is it a legitimate google notification? It begins like this:

Dear site owner or webmaster of example.com,

We recently discovered that some pages on your site look like a possible phishing attack, in which users are encouraged to give up sensitive information such as login credentials or banking information. We have begun showing a warning page to users who visit this site in certain browsers that receive anti-phishing data from Google, as well as users redirected to this site from various Google properties.

Below are one or more example URLs on your site which may be part of a phishing attack…

http://www.example.com/~amafhhte/paysecurepal/details.html?cmd=_login-done&login_access

————————-

Answer: Google has begun to send out such notices. You can confirm the legitimacy of the email through your Google Webmaster Tools account. There should be a copy of the same message there. If you haven’t added and verified your site, you will need to do that to access information about the site that Google provides through Webmaster Tools.

Google Webmaster Tools
https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Leave A Comment